Dairy-free panna cotta with poached rhubarb recipe

Click to rate
(299 ratings)
Sending your rating
serves: 6
Skill: easy
Prep: 15 min
Cooking: 10 min
  • We earn a commission for products purchased through some links in this article.
  • You’d never believe this silky smooth panna cotta is dairy-free, it’s so delicious. Coconut milk makes this dairy-free panna cotta with poached rhubarb very creamy with just a hint of coconut flavour. You can use soya milk, rice milk or oat-based milk subsitute instead of the coconut milk but it won’t be quite as creamy. When rhubarb is in season it makes a lovely topping to this dessert but poached plums or mixed summer berries are equally as good when in season. Panna cotta is set with gelatine so you need to make it at least 3 hours before you want to serve it, or the day before, to allow plenty of setting time.


    • 6 sheets of leaf gelatine
    • 2 x 400ml cans coconut milk
    • 50g caster sugar
    • 1tsp vanilla extract
    • For the poached rhubarb:
    • 500g rhubarb, cut into 2cm pieces
    • 25g caster sugar


    • Soak the sheets of gelatine in a small shallow bowl of cold water for 5 mins to soften.

    • While the gelatine is soaking, heat 1 can of coconut milk in a pan with the sugar, stirring until the sugar has dissolved, until hot but not boiling. Remove from the heat. Squeeze the softened gelatine in your hand to remove excess water, add to the hot coconut milk and stir until dissolved. Add the vanilla extract and the remaining can of coconut milk and stir until evenly mixed. Divide between six glasses or bowls and chill in the fridge for 3 hours or overnight until set.

    • For the poached rhubarb, place the rhubarb in a shallow pan with 3tbsp water. Sprinkle over the sugar, cover and cook gently for about 5 mins until the rhubarb is tender. Allow to cool. Just before serving spoon the rhubarb and juices over the panna cotta.

    Top tip for making Dairy-free panna cotta with poached rhubarb

    If serving this dessert to vegetarians change the gelatine to a vegetarian alternative such as agar agar. It’s used in a slightly different way to gelatine so follow the packet instructions.

    Click to rate
    (299 ratings)
    Sending your rating

    Related Recipes