Tesco issues urgent recall on popular chocolate bars over health fears

Tesco supermarket has pulled the affected bars from sale after issuing health warning - have you bought any?

Tesco opening times sign with bar of chocolate in split picture layout
(Image credit: Getty)

Tesco has issued an urgent recall on some of its popular chocolate bars as they could pose a health risk to some consumers.

The supermarket has recalled its Happi Free From Oat M!lk bars because they contain milk which is not mentioned on the packaging and the Food Standards Agency, which regulates food providers, said the products were a possible health risk for anyone with a milk allergy or intolerance.

The product recall comes after Tesco was forced to recall some popular breakfast items and it warned customers 'do not eat these biscuits'.

The 80g bars affected are the plain M!lk, Salted Caramel and Plain White flavours 

A Happi Free From company notice urged, "If you have bought an affected product and have an allergy or intolerance to milk or milk constituents, please don't eat it.

"Instead return it to a Tesco store for a refund. No receipt is required."

Happi Free From Oat M!lk plain milk, salted caramel and plain white bars

(Image credit: Happi Free From)

The chocolate bars affected are:

  • Plain M!lk, pack size 80g, best before October 2023
  • Salted Caramel, pack size 80g, best before October 2023
  • Plain White, pack size 80g, best before June 2023

But Tesco isn't the only supermarket to issue food recalls, Aldi issued one last week when it urgently recalled jars of sauce from shelves because it could pose a health risk to asthma sufferers.

See more

The Happi Free From chocolate bars are a risk to dairy-free shoppers but also considered a hazard to people who are vegan as they contain undisclosed milk.

The supermarket giant instructed customers, "If you have bought an affected product and have an allergy or intolerance to milk or milk constituents, please don’t eat it.

"Instead, return it to a Tesco store for a refund. No receipt is required."

Tesco encouraged customers to reach out to hello@happifree.com for further information.

The popular brand prides itself on being "dairy and gluten free", it's website states, "We're proud to be free-from, meaning all our products are dairy and gluten freeFREE-FROM. Higher cacao content means less sugar."

And aside from Tesco's the bars of chocolate is also stocked in WH Smith, Selfridges&Co, The Vegan Kind Supermarket, Holland&Barrett, Ocado, and Stores plus many more stockists.

Selina Maycock
Senior Entertainment Writer

Selina is currently a Senior Entertainment Writer for Goodto.com, formerly Senior Entertainment writer for Woman&Home, and My Imperfect Life and has more than 16 years of experience in newspapers, magazines and online. She currently writes a mix of Entertainment news - including celebrity births, weddings and reality show line-ups including Strictly, Dancing On Ice and The Great British Bake Off, reporting the the latest news about the Royal kids Prince George, Charlotte, Louis, Archie and Lilibet as well as Family news stories from baby names to store closures and product recall warnings. Before joining Future Publishing, Selina graduated from the University of Sheffield in 2006 with a degree in Journalism. She is fully NCTJ and NCE qualified and has 100wpm shorthand. When she's not interviewing celebrities you can find her exploring new countryside walking routes, catching up with friends over good food, or making memories.